Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
Newsletter
Archives
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
30 mai 2010

Linux P2V With DD and VHDTool – EASY and CHEAP!

So I’ve been busy the last two week getting ready for TechEd (WAHOO!) where I’m co-presenting two sessions this year.  One of the sessions is all about Linux on Hyper-V. 

To get ready, I’ve been working though lots of the common operational tasks including (as you know P2V) migrations.

I mentioned to my buddy Alexander Lash (my partner in crime at TechEd 2008 where we presented a great session on Hyper-V Scripting) all the challenges of Linux P2V migrations, and he mentioned an easy way to do it using DD and VHDTool.

  • DD is common UNIX / Linux command that is commonly used for capturing disk images to a file.
  • VHDTool is a Windows tool for manipulating VHDs (including the nearly instantaneous creation of HUGE VHDS!).

What I didn’t know was that VHDTool can quickly alter a binary disk image file (like those created by DD) and turn it into a VHD for Hyper-V!

I put DD / VHDTool to the test a couple of different ways this week, and wanted to share some results with you.  Note that using DD and VHDTool ARE NOT SUPPORTED by Microsoft (but they seem to work pretty well, and the price is right!).

--> the rest is on :

http://blogs.technet.com/b/enterprise_admin/archive/2010/05/13/linux-p2v-with-dd-and-vhdtool-easy-and-cheap.aspx

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité