Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
Newsletter
Archives
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
19 juin 2013

It All Starts Here: Internal implementation of Horizon Workspace at VMware

VMware has had a dogfood tradition since previous CEO Paul Maritz’ instilled the practice of having VMware IT deploy VMware products for production use internally. As a VMware employee personally, I can understand some criticism to this practice, but I definitely believe it serves to build and deliver a solid and quality product to the market.

Prior to the release of VMware’s Horizon Suite, VMware IT provided Horizon Workspace to its employees in the production environment. It’s very exciting! Right now, I can use my iPhone and iPad to access my company files without being tied to my desk. Also, it is very easy to share a folder and files with other colleagues, expanding our ability to collaborate and also track various file versions. Additionally, with Workspace, I can access internal applications without further authentication after I login to the Horizon portal. Even my entitlement virtual desktops are still there!

While Mason and Ted discuss the IT challenges with mobility computing in this blog, we at VMware understand these challenges because ‘we eat our own dogfood’.  In this blog I’d like to share some of the key sizing concepts of each of the Horizon components and reference which sizes VMware IT utilized to deploy the Horizon Workspace for its 13,000+ employees.

Horizon Workspace is a vApp that generally has 5 Virtual Machines (VM) by default:

Lets go through each VM and see how to size it in each case:

--> Please see the rest on the blog : http://blogs.vmware.com/consulting/2013/06/it-all-starts-here-internal-implementation-of-horizon-workspace-at-vmware.html

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité