23 août 2011

Safely erase old data with the Format command

As explained in this article there are some important changes in Windows 2008 and 2008 R2 regarding how the formatting of a partition is done. Shortly, when doing a non-quick format the whole drive is overwritten once, compared to Windows 2003 where all information on the main disk area was left behind. If there is data on a partition that should be permanently and safely erased there are plenty of third party tools that could do this, but it is important to know that we have some possibility already builtin. However,... [Lire la suite]
Posté par jcdemarque à 14:54 - - Commentaires [0] - Permalien [#]
Tags : , , , , , ,