Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
Newsletter
Archives
PROSERVIA : Pôle Conseil Expertise
18 juin 2009

Thanks vSphere, you will cost me my job!

Comme nous en parlions avec un "collègue" de virtualisation :

As some of you know I did a health check in Saudi Arabia a couple of weeks ago. A health check is a relatively short engagement. A couple of days on-site and a day off-site for a report. When vSphere went GA I started thinking about all the things I discovered during this particular health check. Now some might say that the things I discovered were low hanging fruit. The truth is that during health checks the things discovered are usually low hanging fruit. Usually it is not because the Sys Admins don’t have enough knowledge, but because they either don’t get any time to manage their environment properly or they’ve been doing it for so long they don’t see the obvious anymore… Don’t get me wrong, there is more to a health check than just the obvious stuff, but I merely want to point out the improvements vSphere brought us in terms of consistent installation / configuration and alarms / actions.

Here’s a short list of the obvious things I usually discover during a health check:

  • Snapshots
  • Lack of redundancy on Service Console or VMkernel
  • Inconsistent naming schemes(Port groups)
  • Inconsistent configuration
  • DNS configuration issues
  • Missing advanced HA settings
  • Faulty hardware
  • Free space on VMFS volumes

Unfortunately for me vSphere will catch most of these issues.

  • Snapshots
    Storage view
  • Lack of redundancy on Service Console or VMkernel
    HA will not configure correctly
  • Inconsistent naming schemes(Port groups)
    Host Profiles or Distributed vSwitch
  • Inconsistent configuration
    Host Profiles
  • DNS configuration issues
    Host Profiles (partly)
  • Missing advance HA settings
    currently not addressed
  • Faulty hardware
    Alarms
  • Free space on VMFS volumes
    Storage view & Alarms

Thanks vSphere, you will cost me my job… Only thing left is “DNS configuration issues” and “missing advanced HA settings”.

http://www.yellow-bricks.com/2009/06/11/thanks-vsphere-you-will-cost-me-my-job/

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité